About District

Ongole District came into existence on 02-02-1970 with the carving out portions of Markapur Revenue Division from Kurnool, Ongole Revenue Division from Guntur and Kandukur Revenue Division from Nellore Districts. It was renamed as Prakasam District in 1972 in memory of the eminent freedom fighter, later Chief Minister of the composite Madras State and the first Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh State, late Sri Tanguturi “Prakasam Panthulu.   Read More


The Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh, Sri YS Jagan Mohan Reddy has promised to give 100% priority on ‘Navaratnalu’. As the name suggests, through nine large-scale welfare schemes, the Government of Andhra Pradesh offers benefits worth a minimum of Rs 1 lakh to Rs 5 lakh per year.



Sri Y S Jaganmohan Reddy Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh
Sri.Pola Bhaskar.,IAS Collector & District Magistrate